Homemade Power Bars with Cranberries and Ginger

homemade power bars

I made some super power bars for the exciting days ahead. I will drive down to Munich for the long weekend to see my younger sister and my friends and of course to go to the Oktoberfest. I am very excited to go.

I have never made power bars before and it’s not very difficult. I got the recipe from Heidi Swanson‘s book “Supernatural Cooking”. I varied the recipe slightly as I didn’t have all the ingredients at hand. I really love to eat dried cranberries and crystallized ginger as a snack. Combining these two in a power bar makes a really nice super-snack.

Cranberries

crystallized ginger

I always wonder who buys all these different power bars at the gym. They have a huge variety of power bars, but I would never buy one of those. Most have a shiny silver or ice blue packaging and the taste and ingredients don’t really sound natural. Not very attractive. I prefer mine.

Equipped with super powers I am ready for the weekend!

What you need for about 12 bars:

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 150g rolled oats
  • 150g unsweetened rice cereal
  • 100g dried cranberries
  • 50g chopped almonds
  • 50g coconut flakes
  • 4 tablespoons finely chopped crystallized ginger
  • 120g rice syrup
  • 30g cane sugar
  • Vanilla extract from 2 small vanilla beans
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
  • Steps:

  • Grease a baking pan with coconut oil. The size of the baking depends on how thick you want your bars to be
  • Mix the oats, almonds, rice cereal, cranberries, ginger and coconut flakes in a large bowl
  • Combine rice syrup, sugar, vanilla extract and sea salt in a small saucepan, stir constantly and bring everything to a boil over medium heat
  • Pour over the oat mixture and stir well until the oat mixture and the syrup are mixed well
  • Spread everything into the prepared baking pan and cool down to room temperature before cutting the bars
  • My bars were a little bit instable. What did I do wrong? Do you have any advice on this?

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 849 other followers

