Beetroot salad and my hands are red

fresh beetroot in hands

My hands are red. Cooking with beetroots is something. But it is a colourful change to the grey weather outside. It is only six weeks left until my summer holidays but summer is taking a break.

I haven’t done so much with beetroot before but it’s such a great veg. I think in Germany we tend to eat pickled beetroot (pickles is so German), which is also nice but I prefer it fresh.

The salad is easy to make and very refreshing. I added crushed almonds and made a light yoghurt dressing just with lemon zest and some pepper and salt. It would also be nice with a Vinaigrette I guess.

Some colour these rainy days!

beetroot salad
beetroot salad on a plate

What you need:

  • 250g rocket salad
  • 2 beetroots
  • A handful crushed almonds
  • 200g plain yoghurt
  • 1/2 lemon
  • Pepper and salt
  • Steps:

  • Put the peeled beetroots in boiling salt water for about 15 minutes
  • Allow the beetroots to cool off and cut into pieces
  • Mix with rocket salad and crushed almonds in a salad bowl
  • For the dressing, combine yoghurt with lemon zest, pepper and salt
  • Serve with warm bread
  • Advertisements

    2 responses

    1. Hello, I have enjoyed reading your blog and the photos are beautiful. We have spent Christmas in Germany for the last three years and the beet dishes have always been good.

    2. I am loving beetroot lately – juiced, grated in salads, roasted or raw. Great post, this will very likely be a work lunch for me next week! Thanks
      x

    Leave a Reply

