Pickled Pumpkin Sweet and Sour

pickled pumpkin

I want to share this simple pickled pumpkin recipe with you. I thought I didn’t like pickled pumpkin until I tried this recipe: pumpkin cooked with vinegar, sugar and ginger. My mum gave me this recipe and I modified it a little, adding my ginger.

It is a nice little snack and great to serve with an aperitif.

I am still keen to do everything with pumpkin, although the city starts to become Christmassy. The Christmas markets have started yesterday but I am not yet in the mood for that. It is still autumn, people!

What you need for two small preserving jars:

  • 200g pumpkin, peeled and chopped into small pieces
  • 100ml water
  • 75ml white wine vinegar
  • 100g cane sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • Lemon zest from 1/2 lemon

  • Steps:

  • Cover the pumpkin with the sugar and leave it for two hours to let the pumpkin absorb some of the sugar
  • Add the other ingredients and cook everything in a pot and then let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes
  • Fill into preserving jars
  • Advertisements

    3 responses

    Leave a Reply

